top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTania Pitsal

Netflix Talks: Emily in Paris!


Who hasn't observed over the last days the increasing buzz after Emily in Paris, Netflix's latest tv show, was released? Many were those who after watching it, loved it as it brought back memories from their all-time favorite Sex and the City, while many were those who rushed to bash it with negative comments all over the social media. As I am currently living in Paris (what a coincidence!) and I have been here for the last 1.5 years, I was really curious to see how my fellow Parisians saw it. And, let me tell you what went down on Twitter was incredible! French don't really like been negatively judged (although you would imagine that they would be used to it by now) and especially based on tons of anachronistic stereotypes.

If I want to be honest, even though I found the show all fluffy and cute, I was a bit bewildered with the way Americans still see French people. I felt they were stuck back in the early '90s with the fashion trends of the present.

What I mean is that no one is going around wearing a beret apart from tourists, maybe...Also, although French people smoke, they would never smoke in the office or an enclosed space unless it was permitted. There is some truth about the rudeness around, but they aren't worse than the Dutch and their duty to "honesty" as they call it. How about Emily's accommodation? Her flat was much bigger than a maid's room would be, although there was a realistic depiction of the issues that can occur in an old building. French and French language, they do love their language and unless you are planning to work as a babysitter or in an international company, you really need to learn how to speak as soon as possible! But, the same goes for Spain or Germany, and to be honest IT IS a bit rude to expect everyone to speak English just because is one of the most spoken languages in the world, (meanwhile, I have the same problem!).

I think that Emily in Paris isn't as bad as they make it appear, especially if you need something light and funny. Just, don't come to Paris having in mind that this is how life is here.

Enjoy watching!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page